Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Chels,
I am not a doctor but if you think you have MMN ask your doctor to try ivig. It appears to be the best remedy available. It only takes a couple days after your infusion to see results. I have had MMN for 6 years. The symptoms are numbness in the hands, weakness in hands, arms and legs. After treatment with ivig I get much of my strength back. Don't go too long without treatment because permanent damage can be done to your nerves which affect your muscles. ivig can address that if taken early on. Best of luck to you.
Bryan

Hi Finallymmn,

Well you are correct - tired is so right there. When I first had symptoms back in Dec 2002 (I was very tired and I had trouble moving my right pinky finger and could not hold a pen long enough to write a personal check without changing the pen position.) I had just completed 30 years of teaching/working with emotionally impaired adolescents. I spent 15 years working in a state hospital and another 15 in a public school. My classroom was on the second floor and my legs were tired and I just felt tired. I was also teaching at a university part time and working on my Ph.D part time. OF COURSE I was tired you say. :) But I had always done such and never felt THAT tired. I thought I finally burned out on the kids

So I began to change jobs (4 new ones - promotions over the next 4 years). Now Zoom to 2006 and I was DX with ALS then later instead MMN. Then I realized how everytime I changed jobs my biggest thought was - a smaller buiding, a smaller parking lot, no stairs. It was not my schedule - it was MMN. I have had treatment - IVIG since 2007. I just had it on Tues of this week. I feel very good. Yesterday I was hyper. In about 2 weeks I will need to slow down a bit and will feel more tired but then with the treatment (every 3 weeks) I will have more energy again.