Reason
Lost a loved one
Country
US
State
PA
City
Lafayette Hill
Since my husband doesn't visit here, this is a big deal for him to say "you should tell the forum about these shoes." So, here it is:

Jim has been looking for several months now for a comfortable sneaker. His were cut a little high on the side and hit his ankle bone & rubbed his heel.
Not being a shopper to begin with, getting into a store & trying on a number of shoes was- well, trying! Sneakers have to be completely unlaced for him to put on due to his toes curling. Good thing I worked as a shoe salesperson going through school!

When he would go in & ask for the lightest weight sneaker they had, the salesperson said that would be a running shoe. "OK, let me see that in an 11", said the man in a wheelchair.
Funny to see the look on their faces! :shock: He actually had too much fun messing with them. (reminded me of CJ's husband)

So, after all this time he found a shoe he loves & wants to share why.
First, it is a New Balance (just the one that was comfortable for him) running shoe. It is light as a feather- easier to lift his foot when he needs to; also, supports his foot when sitting in his recliner. (used to take off shoes for comfort, but doesn't help the footdrop)
Second, it has a slightly broader base on the sides (the soles/rubber part) that is for stabilizing the runner I assume. Well, it also stabilizes him when he stands & transfers!
He said he can actually feel the difference from a regular shoe!
Third, it is mostly fabric on the upper part (as opposed to leather, or fabric & leather) and well cushioned all around, making the shoe portion very soft. This is huge for him!