Diagnosis
06/2007
Country
US
State
Montana
City
Corvallis
Hi, All: I'm a 70-year-old resident of western Montana. I've been tentatively diagnosed with ALS after a year or so of progressively worse speech slurring, mild swallowing/choking incidents, and lately some weakness in my right thumb and lots of muscle cramping in jaw, rib cage, forearm, and legs. I've had an EMG which showed ALS, and I'm waiting for a call to set up an appointment for a second opinion/confirmation at the Virginia Mason ALS Clinic in Seattle. I enjoy playing the piano for school programs and church, as well as our local community playhouse; and so far, thankfully, I can still do those activities. My husband and I also do water aerobics M-W-F, and I'm having fun with my spring yard work and gardening. I'm so interested in these ALS/MND forums and have been searching the posts to see if I could find out what's going to happen with my disease, i.e. how it's going to progress, and have learned only that everybody's progress is different. Right? Have any of you had any experience with the ALS Assn-Evergreen Chapter in Kent, WA? They've been very nice and have put me on their newsletter mailing list already. Evidently they're the liaison/service center for all northwest PALS, including western Montana. Thanks for being here!

Hey Carol-

Always wanted to move to Montana! Sorry you had to join us like this.

Yes every one progresses differently. But, you can rest assured that everyone here will help you along the way.

Since I'm on the right coast - can't help you with WA facility.

CJ

Hi Carol: Welcome to the group....Sorry we had to meet here but just wanted to let you know that there are alot of great people on this site. They are very helpful and I am sure everyone will help you on your journey. Feel free to ask anything you like there is always someone with an answer. Take care. Anne