Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
AU
State
dfjnskdfn
City
kjnfgkdj
Hi I'm new to this forum thing so I'm sorry if I'm not posting correctly or something. Also, I'm not very good with words so I'm not really sure how to explain but here goes...

So I'm 17 years old and ever since I was about 9 I've been experiencing some weird symptoms. I first felt this strange sensation in my legs and arms when I'd be running fast like I couldn't really control my legs or arms properly. It then progressed to sometimes happening when I'd stand up from sitting down or something. It now seems to happen every time that I stand up, sometimes even when I'm walking regularly, but I'm pretty good at hiding it so no-one really notices. I've also noticed that it doesn't happen as often in the mornings and during the holidays when I don't have to walk around a lot so I think it might get worse the more I walk. The symptoms actually stopped for a whole year in 2011 but came back in 2012 which was weird. I told my mum in 2010 and we went to the doctor but he said that it wasn't a physical problem and it had something to do with stress but I'm sure that wasn't the case. From then I've told my mum that it stopped because I didn't want to go back to the doctors.

I've been watching this TV show called Beaver Falls and the main character has ALS so I thought I'd check it out and I came across this thing called Juvenile Primary Lateral Sclerosis and it seems to correspond to my symptoms. The symptoms for JPLS call for clumsiness, muscle stiffness and weakness in my arms and legs but I'm not sure if that's what I'm feeling or not so I thought I would ask this forum and see if you guys could help me.

Clover,

Please talk to your Mom. No matter the reason for your symptoms, you ought to have it checked out by a doctor. Many things can cause the sensations you have including hormones, lack of an essential mineral, anxiety etc.