Is microbiome cause of ALS, or at least - related?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jethro

Distinguished member
Reason
PALS
Diagnosis
09/2017
Country
HR
State
Croatia
City
ZAGREB
this seems to be my last investigation station. microbiome is THE ONLY thing that is not perfect on me, so i dig.
firmicutes, low akkermansia and diversity are my focus.
metformin (panacea?) does it's job incredibly fine - increases akkermansia muciniphila, along with TCM, fos and gos. it repairs intestines/mucus, so metabolites dont go to cns.
umm... brain has it's own microbiome, but patching bbb/mucus wil help.
anyone on the same boat?

When I was first diagnosed I had terrible stomach issues. I didn't connect the two until I studied gut bacteria and the role they play. In the first test, my microbiome was not balanced and lacked a few key things. I corrected them using inulin, Saccromyces and some targeted probiotics. Next test it was better but not perfect.

I have no idea if my gut had anything to do with ALS or with other issues I've had but correcting it seemed easy and affordable.

Nice to see you, Jethro.

There is current research going on looking at the microbiome. I somewhat doubt it is THE cause but implicated somehow. There has been some fascinating mouse research. There were 2 genetically identical sets of c9 mice in 2 locations. One did well the other was sick. They analyzed and found differences in their microbiome , adjusted the microbiome of the sick ones and the got better. I believe a cleaner microbiome was healthier for these mice. BUT when they looked at sod1 mice the opposite was true. They needed a less clean microbiome to thrive.

Of course mouse data generally have translated poorly to humans but even more so it is unclear what you should aim for if you aren’t c9 or sod1. Even if you are it is still early days for data. People in the US can participate in the mgh study remotely. I have posted about it here before.