Reason
Learn about ALS
Country
Uni
State
New Hampshire
City
Capital
I will try to be as brief but thorough as possible.

Male, will be 30 in a few weeks.

My "symptoms" started in January when I noticed that my right leg was much less strong than it used to be. I'll happily admit that the weakness is NOT clinical by any means, but the sudden drop off in strength is very alarming for me as I'm a strength and conditioning coach of high level athletes, so training and exercise are part of my weekly routine. In general my whole right leg just feels awkward and like I have a lack of dexterity. My right gastroc/soleus, hamstring, and glute all feel smaller than my left (particularly my hamstring which is actually fairly noticeable).

In the meantime I became choking on my own saliva. At first it was very intermittent. For example I would lay down to go to sleep at night and when there would be a slight build up of saliva that you would "subconsciously" just swallow down, I would initiate the swallow and then my throat felt like it would spasm/freeze and I would get some in my windpipe and cough.

When this began to happen more frequently I became a little worried and scheduled an appointment with my PCP. He did your typical neurological exam (tested reflexes, had me push/pull in different ways) told me I had a compressed nerve in my back. Sent me for imaging, everything is normal. Next he told me that I was fine, and that I had anxiety and prescribed me some paxil (which I haven't started to take yet).

In the meantime I booked an appointment with my neuro (saw one a few years ago for migraines), but because it's not coming off of a doctors referral the appointment isn't until late September. Since my appointment with the PCP I've started to have fasiculations in my right quadriceps, hamstring and lower leg. They are usually short (last only a few seconds) and are worse at night.