Reason
CALS
Country
US
State
WA
City
Near Seattle
Hi all, I am brand new to this forum. Happy this forum exists, not to happy to need it : / My mother in law (MIL from here on out) was just diagnosed with bulbar onset (probably familial) ALS about a week and a half ago although they have been suspecting it for awhile. My husband and I are her primary caregivers (mostly me as of right now). Man, it has been a whirlwind trying to figure everything out on top of coming to grips with this diagnosis and realizing my husband has a 50% chance of getting this disease as well if it is indeed familial (working on trying to get insurance to cover the genetic testing, which I know only accounts for 20-40% of familial cases...).

I work in healthcare field and I am currently earning my Master in Science Nursing (hence part of the reason I will not be able to provide full-care to my MIL). I am about to start a project and I want it to focus on ALS. So, long introduction, but my question is, if you could improve an aspect of being a PALS or a caregiver for a PALS, what would you like to see happen? While there seems to be immense information and resources for PALS a bunch of different places, I am coming to feel like there are definite gaps. For example, paying for long-term caregiving services? Healthcare workers knowledge of ALS? Coverage gaps? End-of-life and hospice coverage?

I appreciate any and all suggestions, and I hope to eventually help improve at least some avenue of this horrible disease as my masters will be focused in Program Development and Implementation.

One of my biggest gripes is that they exclude PALS from trials after they have had it for 2 or 3 yrs.

Long term care and healthcare workers knowledge of ALS are big ones for us.