Diagnosis
00/0000
Country
US
State
CA
City
Brentwood
I need to have it ruled out. I am a 43y/o female with a history of severe concussions (2). I am not sure if I should go to the VA because I am a combat vet or if I should go back to Kiaser. For those who have had experiences with the VA was it a good one? I did not have a good experience with Kiaser, but they are my insurance.

Background For the past few years I have been dealing with progressive weakness in my left hand/ arm when it is engaged in activities. It has gotten to the point I have even invested a considerable sum into a kitchaid mixer because I cannot effectively knead dough or whisk batter. I even have a hard time describing the feelings associated with what is going on, because its not numbness or tingling. The feeling of Muscle failure when you have done a crap ton of pushups would be the best description. I just know that I have to stop, rest, and try again. Typing is fine because I can rest my arms. For the past few years I have thought that it was shoulder repetitive use injury, within the last month I have noticed that in between my pointer fingers and thumbs a depression has developed.

Googling that's what led me here. I know I should not have done that but deeper on my left than on my right. Also, the clavicular head of my sternocleidomastoid muscle has disappeared on my left side. (I was a surgical tech in the military, so please forgive for using some correct anatomical terms, I apologize in advance) Now some atrophy is a normal part of aging. The only other symptom that I have is severe calf cramps at night in my legs. But that could be due do my platelet disorder which I was Dx'ed with last year.

So, any advice on getting doctors to listen. Some of the same things to dx ALS/PLS are used for nerve damage, so it would be beneficial in that regard too. Feel free to post any advice or ask me any questions. Thank you so much for any advice.