Diagnosis
11/2011
Country
US
State
Washington
City
Yakima
Hi, I am new to this forum. My husband was diagnosed with ALS a year ago. We have been so busy with doctors, and finding out that not many are very familiar with ALS. We have a new challenge, he is now experiencing FLD. At a loss at how to help. The medication doesn't seem to work all the time. When he is in one of these episodes, there is no working with him. I work in the medical field, and am frustrated beyond belief! He needs medical care, as he is impacted, but won't go. He refuses to turn over power of attorney. Any suggestions? Nobody seems to be able to get through to him :?:

Sheryl I am sorry for what you and hubby are going through. That impaction issue is very serious. Do you have any home care nursing service that can come out and give him an enema or disimpact him? That is one thing that you needs attention asap. Big hug to you.

Laurel

Sheryl.. what meds is he on? We found it took something of a cocktail of anxiety, depression and psychotic meds, and frequent dosage adjustments, until we found the right one. I'd also contact your local ALSA and talk to the social worker to see if you can get a recommendation for an attorney that has some knowledge of working with dementia cases. Your local Alzheimer's Association might be helpful there too... while this is a VERY different form of dementia a lawyer with knowledge of the field might be able to help you with workarounds for the power of attorney and healthcare POA. You're on a rough road... please be sure to come back with questions.

I appreciate the responses. It carried on through today. He doesn't remember going to the Vet Clinic in Walla Walla. Insisted we needed to go. Was up at 2 in the morning. Waited until 8, then started calling around. Doesn't seem to be much help out there as he is refusing all help. We are headed to Seattle Mon. A.M for a dr appt. Hopefully he'll have some better options for us. Thank you again. Sheryl