AdBlock Detected

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks some useful and important features of our website. For the best possible site experience and to help support our community please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.

humidifier for Trilogy

Status
Not open for further replies.

pittsburghgal

Distinguished member
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
482
Reason
CALS
Diagnosis
11/2011
Country
US
State
PA
My husband, Frank, has a trach and uses the Trilogy with attached humidifier only at night. Saturday we lost power for 5 hours during the night. The Trilogy switched to battery but the humidifier was off due to loss of power. He claimed that he felt like his trachea felt like it was burning due to the unhumidified air being blown into his trachea and complained of pain requiring Tylenol throughout the following day.

Is there another way to humidify the air for the Trilogy when the attached humidifier can not be used due to loss of power?

Sharon
 

Diane H

Senior member
Joined
Sep 28, 2013
Messages
631
Reason
PALS
Diagnosis
11/1985
Country
US
State
Indiana
I have an HME, Heat and Moisture Exchanger, which is in my Trilogy hose. It has been all I need for humidity for years. It is disposable, small, requires regular changing but no cleaning. Apparently, it isn't enough for everyone, but it is so simple, not an infection risk, no electricity, no machine to deal with, inexpensive (about $2) and definitely worth a try. Your Respiratory Therapist can get one for you and add them to the list of supplies you get if it works for him.
 

lgelb

Forum Supporter
Moderator
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
7,332
Reason
Lost a loved one
Diagnosis
09/2009
Country
US
State
WA
Some ultraportable CPAPs with EPR (up to 3 cm difference between IPAP and EPAP) leverage HMEs as well, including the Z1 that we used.

Not to hijack, but that is another reason why I suggest those facing any awake situation where the Trilogy's bulk might be cumbersome, e.g. transfers, toileting, day trips, consider that option.
 

Narrowminded

Very helpful member
Joined
Apr 30, 2016
Messages
2,358
Reason
Lost a loved one
Diagnosis
07/2007
Country
US
State
PA
Sharon, Brian was never satisfied with and HME from the get go and then after using the humidifier like Frank, says the HME doesn’t work at all. Everyone is different though as you can see from Diane’s post. Give them a try. Otherwise, you could try filling the tank with water, the air will still flow through and pick up some moisture, but it won’t be heated like the machine does it. Worth a shot there too.

Hugs
 

KateEmerson

Distinguished member
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
429
Reason
Lost a loved one
Diagnosis
09/2013
Country
US
State
MA
Sharon, HMEs weren't enough humidication for Job either so we used the humidifiers day and night. But we did have and use an HME when power wasn't available primarily when we left the house. Kate
 

GregK

Extremely helpful member
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
2,775
Reason
PALS
Diagnosis
11/2012
Country
US
State
CO
After a quick search, it appears that HMEs require exhaled air to function, does this mean that they won't function on a single tube setup?
 

KateEmerson

Distinguished member
Joined
Apr 23, 2016
Messages
429
Reason
Lost a loved one
Diagnosis
09/2013
Country
US
State
MA
Greg,

if your single tube reference is regarding a BiPap, I have no idea since my husband totally skipped over a BiPap. If you are referring to a trach/vent circuit, my husband had a single tube with an exhale valve in it. We would attach an inline suction catheter directly on to the trach, the HME attached to the side port of the in line, and then the vent tube to the HME. So the HME would be in between the trach and the exhale valve.

Kate
 

Kristina1

Senior member
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Messages
590
Reason
PALS
Diagnosis
03/2017
Country
US
State
MA
i don't want to hijack but the humidifier my trilogy has, which im using for bipap, has only a temperature dial, not a moisture dial. you know how with a regular humidifier from the drug store you can increase how much moisture is added to the mist? How do I increase the moisture on the trilogy humidifier? I frequently wake up around 4am in discomfort because my mouth and throat are bone dry. Which is saying something considering pre-bipap i was drooling a lot at night!
 

patrick123

Distinguished member
Joined
Oct 4, 2012
Messages
433
Reason
PALS
Diagnosis
09/2012
Country
US
State
co
I have HME's just for the reason.
 

lgelb

Forum Supporter
Moderator
Joined
Nov 5, 2009
Messages
7,332
Reason
Lost a loved one
Diagnosis
09/2009
Country
US
State
WA
The Trilogy humidifier is not all that. Unfortunately, unlike the ResMed humidifier, it does not have a moisture control.

I have never explored attaching a ResMed humidifier to a Trilogy, but the thought just popped into my head. I am not sure if the connectors are compatible.

Anyway, back to the Trilogy's lame humidifier... The best way I know to get around that is to consider a room humidifier as well, and/or adjust your furnace to compensate. And keep all filters, machine and room, clean. You might also try Biotene, saline, GSE or another throat/mouth spray just before bed.

PS -- yes, you can use an HME with a single circuit. In either case, you may need to turn off some alarms and/or adjust settings due to condensation from the HME that can change flow rate a little.
 
Last edited:

GregK

Extremely helpful member
Joined
Jan 29, 2013
Messages
2,775
Reason
PALS
Diagnosis
11/2012
Country
US
State
CO
XyliMelts tablets worked much better for me than Biotene. Does not last the whole night, ~4 hours
 

pittsburghgal

Distinguished member
Joined
Jan 7, 2016
Messages
482
Reason
CALS
Diagnosis
11/2011
Country
US
State
PA
Thanks for all the good advice. We will ask the respiratory therapist to set us up with a HME.

Sharon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top

AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks some useful and important features of our website. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock