02/2017
Country
US
State
CT
City
suburb
Hi all,

This is my first time posting. My husband is at a point where he almost can't walk. I'm not really prepared for this. I've thought about what I should be doing, but haven't gotten it done yet.

I was wondering if anyone has any comments about a hoyer lift that you have been using. I see that there are different brands. I would need a battery operated one. I have problems with my shoulders. Does Medicare give you a choice of brands? If so, I wouldn't know which one to pick. Are they all the same?

Thanks in advance.

Hi, Tammy, sorry to welcome you here. And no, you can never really be prepared if only mentally for his loss of mobility -- just remember, neither is he, so be good to each other. Does your husband have or are you in the process of getting a wheelchair? Shower chair?

Often, your local ALS Association (ALSA) chapter can provide a loaner lift so you do not have to buy one. Medicare only reimburses for a manual, but pretty much of all us need power.

It is also worth checking what other loan items are available that might be helpful, though there are also many things you will want to buy, that are not Medicare-reimbursable. If you can tell us more about your husband, that would help us suggest things to think about.

Most commonly, the brand you will be lent is the original -- the Hoyer/Joerns/Sunrise types -- the company has changed hands -- but they are all similar.

Best,
Laurie

Thanks Lauri. We are in the process of ordering a power wheel chair. We bought a van and we are hoping the get a loaner chair soon. We are installing a ramp to get out of the house. He uses a rollator in the house and uses a travel chair when we go out. We've raised the toilet so high that it really looks like a throne :) He has a lift chair that we got a while ago. We installed a stair lift so he is still able to be upstairs.