How old you are...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Al

I think you and I could go on for days. I love it. Nothing beats a good poker or pool story.

"Big room over a bar". Right out of a movie. We ought to write a book and make a movie. Our cue mechanic at our pool room has actually written a book. Would you believe his name is Al.

I started playing pool at age eleven. My good friend's father ran the local pool hall. He would let us play for free before he opened on Saturdays if we cleaned the place.

Stopped playing for 20 years after leaving the Army. Started again after "Color of Money" movie (1980). Quit again in 2005 and started back in 2014.

Never was a top player. Just a wannabe. Did play Earl "The Pearl" in 1985. My most exciting match was with Ewa Mataya. Same year. What a beauty. Nice person too.

I can run a few 9 ball racks. At one point I ran almost 4 racks in straight pool.

Now, that's all the bragging I'm going to do.

Ernie,

Wow! How i would love to played against either one of those guys. Yes, you are a pool player

Yea, we could probably write a book of the old days.

Several years after the poker bust I put out two grand (that was a lot of money back then) to get my records expunged for two gambling charges. The other charge is another story.

I play pool occasionally now but I have to play pretty much standing straight up. Rail shots without a finger bridge on the rail... can't stoop over. Sometimes I impress myself. :)

I learned to play poker in the Army. I mean the word "learned'. :)

Anywhooo... hope the others don't mind.

Last edited:
Chincoteaguer gets the big stuffed animal from the top shelf. That was just too funny.

I have a manual typewriter that needs a string. Manuals are very useful for filling out forms. At one time, I found a way to make a PC "writeln > PRN" output one letter at a time as you pressed the keyboard. That turned a Pentium computer into a manual typewriter.