How important is Lateral Rotation (bed)?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GregK

Moderator emeritus
Reason
PALS
Diagnosis
11/2012
Country
US
State
CO
City
Colorado Springs
I have been fighting with my Denver VA for over two years now trying to get a lateral rotation bed.
They initially, repeatedly refused the ProBed by Freedom Bed, saying that it is 'dangerous'. This is apparently because there's no clinical tests.

So, another Vet got a HillRom Progressa bed when he requested the ProBed. It does arguably more than the ProBed.

I asked the VA about the Progressa and was told that it's for ICUs.

WTF?

I'm now trying to find the official, clinical studies that show rotation of immobile patients prevents clots and pneumonia.

I will search on my own but was hoping that one or more of our professional researchers might assist.

I would have put this request into the Vet forum but I'm hoping the data will be useful to all pALS.

Weird response from the VA. My living room was essentially an ICU for awhile.

VA was very good for us.

Greg, are you working through the PVA? If not... with an ALS diagnosis the membership is free. The PVA knows what VA phone numbers to call.

In this instance, the PVA has been useless.

I don’t know anything about these types of beds. But my thought would be to contact the company/ manufacturer to see if they have any studies or data showing clinical benefits for preventing blood clots or pneumonia. If they can provide data, then you can use that to see if VA will cover cost of bed.

Greg,

I took a quick look at the literature and didn't see anything that would support CLRT (continuous lateral rotation therapy) in the home setting particularly. Likely, this is because manufacturers are not funding studies for home use beds that payors other than the VA are unlikely to cover, full stop. Kind of a chicken and egg.