Diagnosis
05/2017
Country
US
State
IA
City
Cedar Rapids
So, because of household income, I will not be eligible for SSDI.

I haven’t worked in the last 20 years - I’ve been homeschooling our kids, youngest is currently 5. I have twenty credits from 1990’s. However, none are from the past five years.

Does the ALS diagnosis override this? We knew previously (with my PLS diagnosis) that we were in trouble here. Our worry is needing Medicare eventually and no eligibility.

You mean you don’t qualify for ssi. That is the income one. And I am sorry without credits you don’t qualify for ssdi or medicare. It stinks. Same thing happened to my sister. it is brutal and awful

I was also not eligible for SSDI benefits since I worked as a teacher and paid into a state teacher's retirement plan. However, I applied to Social Security and was approved for Medicare with a 5 month waiting period once I no longer had earned income. The normal waiting period is 2 years for a regular disability diagnosis but ALS is a compassionate care case and shortens the Medicare waiting period.

Contact your local SS administration office and go online to begin the online application process. It is a laborious process requiring medical documentation and doctor appointment details. Have someone help if you have difficulties with computer usage.

I think Cathy that you paid into medicare even though not social security which is why you got it. I had a government job briefly and that was how it worked I hope I am wrong but that is what happened to my sister

Yes I did. I didn't realize that's why I was granted Medicare. I guess sometime in the late 1980s all state teachers had to start paying Medicare but older teachers did not have to.

It’s not fair because without the ssdi, you don’t get the Medicare either. It’s weird how the work credits thing works. Before giving up, I’d recommend checking with a lawyer who specializes in disability, just to see if there are any ways around this.