Not open for further replies.

Anxiousnelly

Reason
Learn about ALS
Diagnosis
00/0000
Country
US
Hey all, love this forum and all you guys do. I did read the FAQ and just wanted some discussion thoughts.

31 yo M, started about 1 month ago with diffuse fasics. Would notice at rest and when I’m lifting it would be fine. Definitely noticed stronger fasics the day after but it was pretty wide spread (biceps, thumbs, eyelids, calf, quads, hammy, and even like back and abdominal wall).

Attributed it to caffeine use, and scaled back the last few days and the fasics have definitely gotten better (only occasional twitch lasting one or two beats, still random). The weird part that has me spooked is my right arm and leg. They felt heavy. Not truly weak like failure but it felt off and didn’t feel any one muscle group weaker than the other. I work in healthcare and so I did some at home testing and my strength afaik is still symmetric and 5/5 and the arm heaviness has gotten better but my R leg is still feeling off. I don’t have any gait instability, still able to walk up and down steps without any issue, and when I wake up there isn’t really any problem, it’s after a few hours of being up it starts acting up.

Looking for some reassurance. The thought of *** popped in my head because a friend had another healthcare provider who had severe fasics who was dx w *** and that had me bugging. Thanks!

Hello-

If you read here: Read Before Posting, it covers things like twitching absent clinical weakness and addresses the difference between clinical weakness and feelings of heaviness, etc. The standard thing we recommend is a visit to the doctor first if you have worries about health issues.

Take care

You attributed it to caffeine use, and scaled back the last few days
and the fasics have definitely gotten better.

Your arm heaviness has gotten better.

You don’t have any gait instability, still able to walk up and down
steps without any issues.