Diagnosis
03/2017
Country
US
State
MA
City
Grafton
Just a rant. I'm not good at swallowing pills. It's hard for me to direct the liquid & pill in my mouth, it gets stuck in pockets near my cheeks, and when I finally do get it to the back of my mouth it is hard for me to swallow and sometimes takes several tries. Nudexta and my other medication are in capsules so they are easier, but I HATE the riluzole. It melts quickly and the substance, for whatever reason, numbs anywhere on my mouth that it sits. So when I struggle to swallow it fast enough I end up with a numb tongue, sides of cheek, and roof of my mouth. I hate it!!!

I know it's not a big deal in the larger scheme of things, but it really annoys me and I just needed to have a little rant over it after a particularly bad attempt just now left my whole freaking mouth numb. Grr.

Might it be easier if you crushed it in something?Probably still would get some numbness( normal) but if it went down quicker maybe less?

When my husband could still swallow I put his pills inside a gel capsule so could swallow them easier.

When my husband could still swallow I put his pills inside a gel capsule so could swallow them easier.

Oh, I didn't know you could buy empty capsules and do that. Where did you get them?

I tried crushing and it didn't work for me with my overactive gag reflex the taste had me gagging terribly. I used applesauce and it didn't disguise taste well at all. Maybe I could try again with something like pudding.

Chocolate pudding is frequently used by transplant patients, who take a lot of pills. I should also point out that you can get various flavors of applesauce; the more natural kinds, which have more apple flavor, and flavors like peach are worth trying. Yogurt is another option.

Of course, don't overdo caffeine or fat given the interactions.

Of note, Biohaven is developing a fast-melt form for this very reason.