Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
NC
City
Raleigh
Hello All -

This is my first post. I have not received an ALS diagnosis, but due to my Gulf War Service/Syndrome I am deathly afraid of this disease. I feel like I have been showing very early symptoms for a few years now. Many of them may attributed to my Gulf War Syndrome, many point away from ALS, a few point to it. I already have a 100% VA disability rating due to the Gulf War Syndrome, the $250,000.00 VA life insurance.

After reading through several of the "Read This First" posts, I know I should request a Neurology appointment. I have had several MRI's in the recent past due to the chronic pain (GWS), so they have ruled out MS. I have been told that I have some nerve damage that can to be clinically explained, they think it may be due to my 13+ years as a paratrooper, hard landings and smacking my head around, causing some spinal cord damage.

Things that worry me:
Trouble swallowing - I choke on something I am eating about once per week, and really need to concentrate on swallowing to ensure I don't. Small bites and lots of chewing.

I bite my tongue and or lips or cheeks alot.

I bruise easily, and don't know how I got them. I also cut, or hurt myself and don't know where or how I did it. It also seems to take a very long time to heal from anything.

Positive Hoffmann's reflex - with no explanation

Hyperreflexia - All over

Clonus - bilateral

Other symptoms/Issues:
Chronic Migraines
Chronic wide spread pain from pinched nerves in my back
Back Spasms
Fibromyalgia
Irritable bowel syndrome
Memory Problems - short and long term
Chronic fatigue

Again - I know I should request a Neurology appointment and I will send a message to my PCD today. I am just venting and looking for a place I can talk about my concerns before my next Dr. appt without causing my family to worry.

Thank you all for letting me vent.
Rob D - DPain

Hi