Reason
Loved one DX
Country
US
State
ca
City
san jose
My mom was diagnosed with ALS about a year ago with I think bulbar onset? At this point she cant talk.. well I can understand her most of the time but no one else can.. and she cannot swallow. She has a g tube. I'm expecting a baby in less than a month and my mom is really excited.. but now she is having problems grasping on to things.. i fear that she won't be able to hold the baby. I worry about her day and night and being extra sensitive I cry for her so much. I want to help her. I want to cure her. I want to take her ALS and beat the crap out of it. She takes Lithium and Rilutek. I feel like Lithium makes her more lethargic and less energetic. I'm no doctor so I dont know. She used to be so energetic.. she can barely walk a block without her legs feeling weak. How could a strong healthy person get so weak in such a small period of time? I'm angry. She stopped going to physical therapy because she said it wasn't helping. I'm trying to find a neurological PT in my area. Does anyone go to a PT and find it helpful. My mom expresses she just wants a massage. This is my first "thread" I'm new to all of this.

Congrats on the coming of the little one!

Don't worry, your Mom will find a way to hold her grandchild! Y'all will be creative I'm sure! She will still be able to feel the baby and that's what counts. The soft caress of a baby's cheek on your mother's, would, I'm sure make her so very happy!

Range of motion exercise is important, but unless a PT is familiar with ALS, I wouldn't trust them to deal with a PALS.

Is your Mom going to an ALS Clinic? They would be the best ones to advise about PT.

Your Mom will be able to feel your baby's love and indeed hold your baby in a creative way.