05/2017
Country
US
State
NC
City
Charlotte
I wanted to share some exciting news...

My dad had been using a Head Mouse until he could no longer move his head, about two months ago.

There are plenty of expensive options for "eye tracking" - but I found a $150 device on Amazon called Tobii Eye Tracker 4C. It's designed for gaming, but also works with some beta functionality that was just released for Windows 10.

He's able to completely control the computer by moving his eyes and looking at whatever he wants to click on. It's really been a life saver.

I've seen lots of very expensive solutions out there, so I wanted to share this since it's fairly cheap and has worked a miracle for us. Even if he could still move his head, I think this would have been a better option than the Head Mouse.

Here's a link to get Windows 10 setup for eye tracking:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4043921/windows-10-get-started-eye-control

I've been using the various betas for a couple months now.

The latest releases are buggy as they start out responding briskly, but on my Tobii I-15+ slows to a dead hang within 15 minutes.

There are still needed functions missing, most notably lack of drag-n-drop and word prediction in the typing keyboard (oddly enough, the text-to-speech keyboard DOES have word prediction!).

The good news is that it's intuitive and, frankly, easier to use than the Tobii eye-gaze (note: for Windows Control I use Gaze Selection and not Mouse Emulation)

Do you use any software for quick communication with this device ?

I use Talk for Me on my Tobii. I can no longer hold a cellphone.

Much richer in functionality than Balabolka and less complex than Tobii Communicator.

Both Talk for Me and Balabolka are free, and I believe Talk for Me is available for cellphone.

I have Talk for Me programmed with Alexa commands and my various "help!" commands.

Attached is a Screenshot of what my customized Talk for Me looks like.