Learn about ALS
Diagnosis
00/0000
Country
US
State
WI
27yo female.

I've been twitching for 8 years and within the past 7 months began having some rapidly progressing weakness- trouble typing, walking, atrophy in knee. I'm scared.

Had an EMG/NCS a few days ago along L side- where I am feeling most of the weakness.

It didn't seem like she pricked too many muscles but narrated to me through the process what was going on.

I don't have the report yet- but the neurologist doing the test said everything looked completely normal in both the EMG and NCS part and nothing pointed to any evidence of MND.

I'm usually twitching all day- but I don't think any twitching was captured on the test.

If I had denervation would the EMG/NCS catch it at this point? Does it matter that we only tested muscles on my left side?

I asked my neuro if we could please order an EMG for the right side too and she refused. I don't know why but it makes me uncomfortable.

Please read this if you have not already done so: Important - READ BEFORE POSTING! Answers to common concerns about possible symptoms!

In people with ALS, denervation changes are typically widespread, so it is not necessary to do EMG on many muscles. Even if only a couple muscles are tested and come out normal, that is sufficient. So it doesn’t matter that she only tested muscles on the left side.

Twitching is common, nonspecific, and meaningless in the absence of muscle function failure which you have not described.

Your story doesn’t sound like ALS anyway.

You’re good to go. No ALS. You’re in the wrong place here. Congratulations.

Thank you so much for replying so quickly. I have many quickly progressing symptoms I am worried about that are very close to ALS.