Early stages of diagnosis process. Confused.

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarcoSierra

Reason
Learn about ALS
Diagnosis
00/0000
Country
CA
State
QC
City
Montreal
This is my first time here and I am in early stages of diagnosis process. I am very anxious about ALS although I have had some reassurance it is far too early to become obsessed over this.

I am 59 years old and over the summer started to increase my biking and physical activities. I normally bike about 10Km a day or walk 30 min. Mid august I got a painful thigh cramp while shooting baskets. I found it unusual. A few days later I had a sudden cramp on my right thigh while simply sitting at desk. 2 days later I got a sharp neck pain, then pain in right shoulder. Then left shoulder felt like it dislocated doing a simple task. All of these incidents were brief but painful. I had no history of such muscular issues.

A week later (Sept 5) while biking my right leg suddenly lost strength- like it had a 25lb weight attached. I was later unable to walk more than 5 min without exhaustion. I normally needed to lay down after with flu like exhaustion. This continued day after day until I initially had cardiac tests, leg artery/vein scans and was later referred from cardiology to neurology.

Office motor tests were fine but I think brisk reflexes on one side. A cerebral MRI was done that was clean. Blood tests showed no abnormalities. The struggles to walk continued and I started noticing muscle twitching in right calf and simultaneous right bicep aching with leg aching on simple walking. EMG was done last week which I believe was also normal. Now I am getting additional cramping in fingers resembling arthritis and shoulders painful to raise arms.