03/2011
Country
AU
State
Western Australia
City
Perth
Hello PALS
I have been doing some research into NurOwn as a therapy for ALS. The problem I have is that I'm not a scientist, and the published reports leave me a little confused as to what is actually going on. I was hoping that a few people on this forum may have undergone the trials to date and I would love any comments from them about the experience. Specifically did you experience an actual improvement in your symptoms, or a deceleration in the rate of decline, or did it have no effect at all. For anyone who had an improvement, did this wear off after time? If so, how long? I'm also interested in understanding if it's an invasive procedure, did it hurt a lot and was there much hospital time involved. I'm doing this research as there is an outside chance that I will be able to access the therapy for myself. My problem is that I've had ALS for over six years and now have an ALS FRS close to zero. I am trying to figure out whether following this up is worth the physical, emotional and financial investment, or if I should just sit back and pump pina coladas through my peg. Any input from anyone will be most gratefully received.

Hi Kitchener,

I'm so sorry to hear about your progression but excited that you may have been asked to be part of the trial!

I don't know anyone personally who has tried it but a friend from Melbourne said he knows someone on the trial who claimed it slowed down their progression. I can try find out more information for you.

From what I have read, it's stem cell therapy using bone marrow I think, which will be invasive - maybe it's administered through a lumbar puncture?

I'm in Sydney. Just wondering how you got access to the trial? That's amazing!

Do a search.
One of our members got her husband into the PhII trial.