Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
Colorado
City
Denver
Hello,

This is my first posting concerning the possibility I may have ALS. I'm 44 years old and until recently I have been relatively healthy. I work from home and my occupation requires me at a computer for long periods of time and my lifestyle has become more sedentary the past couple of years. I'm not in messed up shape (not overweight, no high BP, low cholesterol) and do keep a balanced diet but I admit, I havent been as active as I once was. Anyway, this spring I started noticing pain in my calf. At first it did not alarm me too much- just was more annoying (feelings of RLS, minor muscle twitching) than anything. Then a pain started flaring up, felt like an electric shock and it would start in my foot and shoot up to my knee. Then some evenings it would move to my left forearm and I'd ice it. I figured maybe carpral tunnel? I used to be a guitarist and worked alot with my hands and forearms, I just didnt know if these two twitches or muscle spasms were related. After weeks of Google searches and anxiety ridden self diagnosis' I went to the hospital. Here they ran a set of blood work to rule out issues like diabetes, deep vein thrombosis, heart disease etc,. They did an xray where they found a mass on my gastrocnemius muscle that prompted an ultra sound. In short, they only found a mass of fatty tissue and brought up an old 'traumatic injury' on my calf that I never had- I was perplexed. After this I went to my PCP where he referred me to orthopedics. The orthopedic noticed some slight atrophy on my left calf, some hyperflexia yet my strength was still good (could support my weight on my left foot, resistance tests were good). An EMG was done and the neurologist didn't find anything out of the ordinary except for a slight leak in my L4-L5. A series of MRI's were ordered and the results from these were more of the same, fatty atrophy on my gastrocnemius muscle and a small Bakers cyst behind my left knee. My f