03/2014
Country
US
State
California
City
Temecula
Hello,

This is my first time venturing out of the Care givers forum, I hope I picked the right place. My husband has limb onset ALS that started in his left leg. He has severe foot drop and wears an AFO and walk with the aid of a cane. We are just now starting the PWC evaluation process.

Here's my dilemma....we have no walk in shower in our house. The master bath has a Roman Soaking tub/shower with sliding doors. The main bathroom is just a standard tub/shower combo also with slider doors. My husband has to pay very close attention to what he's doing when he walk so as not to fall. His legs are very atrophied. When he gets in and out of our shower he has to lift his left leg up behind the thigh to get it to clear the tub. I bought a suction shower bar to help stabilize him, but it turned out to be a piece of scrap that only sticks to the wall sometimes. He doesn't trust it and I don't blame him!

I need some help/tips/advice/magic on getting him in and out of the shower safely as his legs get weaker. I don't want him to fall and break something. I know the simple answer is " get started remodeling that master bath right away!" Well, that's the thing, we rent this home. So I feel limited as to what I can do for him. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Megan

Hi Megan,
I'm a past CALS answering, but I hope I can help.

Firstly can you get an OT to come and do an assessment of your actual situation? That could be very helpful for you both.

Secondly there is NO safe way to get a PALS in and out of a regular shower. This is about the most dangerous of activities - hard tiles, glass, confined spaces, and if you are going to try and assist you both risk serious injury.

Do you have a drainage hole in one of the bathroom floors?

I used a wonderful portable shower base for Chris and can give some details and upload photos if you have a drainage hole (it drains through the floor drain).