05/2016
Country
US
State
Oklahoma
City
Tulsa
Hello everyone,

I am newly diagnosed since December 2015 with motor neuron disease (suspected ALS). I will start with a little background information first. I am married to the most wonderful woman in the world and have two grown children. I have always worked hard to support my family. I have a high school education and joined the Army just after I graduated. Upon finishing my military obligations I returned home and married the girl across the street who was also my best friend. We started our family right away and I worked mainly laborer jobs as we were starting out. There were times that I had to temporarily work two jobs to make ends meet. I am a fighter and not easily discouraged or defeated. In the meantime I spent twenty years as a volunteer fire fighter as we live in a rural community. We were very active in our community and our local church.

The years flew by and I eventually worked my way up to a dream job for most people, a structural aircraft mechanic. At last I had a future and somewhat financial security making more money than I new what to do with. I had a daughter in college and was finally able to start really starting to sock away money for retirement. I had been dealing with moderate reoccurring depression since I was in my early twenties but it was easily managed with medication. In January of 2012 our first granddaughter was born and I was on top of the world and could not have been happier. In May of that year without warning the bottom dropped out. The depression spiked off the charts with anxiety and panic attacks. My job was a high stress job and just the thought of going back into that environment would break me out into hives. Even on the bottoms of my feet. Basically any stress at all would set me off. I was all over the place. Eventually I lost my dream job and health insurance. I was off all medication for probably eight months or so.