Not open for further replies.

adams_mommy_07

Country
US
State
North Carolina
City
Greensboro
Hi, my name is Melanie and I'm 22 years old and experiencing what I think are bulbar symptoms. The symptoms have appeared within the past month with difficultly pronouncing "st" "sh" "t" "ed" sounds. I also have difficulty swallowing sometimes. I have also noticed that my tongue and lips are "lagging" feeling, slow to form words when I want to speak.

In terms of extremities, I have noticed that I loose my balance often when stepping off of a chair or something, but have never fallen. I do trip a lot, but I walk around really fast at work so I'm not sure if that is more a product of a hurried pace.

I'm not sure if these symptoms could be attributed to an abnormally high stress level? Right now I'm a new mother, get 2-3 hours less sleep/night than I'm used to, work 33 hours a week at a very stressful job, I'm a full-time student, I'm also stessing out in preparation for graduate school, and I have issues in my personal life with my fiance as well requiring we go to counseling. I constantly feel stressed and on the go, never relaxing or not worrying about something.

Could my symptoms be attributed to stress? The seem a little too specific to ALS to be, IMHO. What do you think?

Hi,
Im also 22 years and and I was, too, concerned about bulbar form of ALS. But - bulbar ALS is even more rare than ALS itself and in 22 years there is almost no chance to get it.

Anyway, stress and anxiety often results to swallowing troubles (its the "lump in the throat" feeling). About the speaking troubles - I dont know. Do your troubles go better? If yes, thats an excellent sign. Have you done an EMG - neuro exam yet?

Take care

bulbar ALS is rare, it's even more rare in 22 yr olds.

You should see a neruologist though, just to elimiate your fears.

YOu need to reduce your stress level somehow, life is too short to live like that

Myasthenia Gravis

Hi Melanie,