Learn about ALS
Country
US
State
massachusetts
City
weymouth
Hi

I have asked before on this site if there are any military veteran here that have ALS or think they have ALS. Please let me know if any of you are.

Thank You
Steve

I think there are a couple Steve. Seems to me I recall reading here recently about a career lady soldier with ALS. Anybody else remember who it was?
AL.

I was a Nuclear Electronics Technician in the Navy '92 - 00.

My husband has ALS. He was in the Marines when he was young, then later in life was in the USAR and Oklahoma NG. While in the National Guard he was deployed to Iraq for 13 months, which is when and where his symptoms started.

Shelly, caregiver of Eddie

Thank You

Thank you to those who have responded. I am wondering becuase I was in the first gulf war and they say solidiers who were there have 2 times a chance of getting ALS then thise who were not there. Thank You also for those who ahve served

Actually studies have shown that any veteran is slightly more than twice as likely to develop ALS regardless of when or where they served. Currently the VA will only presumptively connect vets that were in the Southwest Asia Theater of Operations between August 2, 1990 and July 31, 1991. I'm fighting this fight now to get all vets with ALS service connected. If you want info let me know I can give you links to all the documents and studies I've found thus far.

I served in the navy from 86 - 95, was in the Persian Gulf during operation Praying Mantis and Good Will in 1988. Currently working with the PVA and DAV for VA disability. Diagnosed at 39. This is the first time I've posted and would like to thank everybody for thier help over the last year and half, just been reading the posts and letting it all sink in. God Bless, Pops.

My father was a veteran - navy, Korean war. He also worked as a mechanical engineer for Westinghouse for many years, doing something with nuclear power (I'm sorry I don't know exactly what).