Other
Country
US
State
Oregon
City
Corvallis
Dear ALS Patients and Families,

It's really wonderful to see a place like this so active with support for each other. Thank you for being here.

I'm a computer science student at Oregon State University and for my senior design project, my partners and I are building software that helps researchers at ALS Untangled determine the credibility of treatment offers based on their website design. To train our machine learning algorithm, we are looking to build a data set with treatments and ratings of their legitimacy. Please share your experiences here, and we will use them to improve our software.

It really broke my heart when I heard that scams targeted the communities of the most debilitating chronic diseases, and I had to do all I could to help. Hopefully our software will be of use, or at least provide a start for professionals to perfect.

Thanks,
Markus Woltjer

You are working with ALS Untangled??? That group is not going to evaluate treatments by website design and neither do we. We evaluate by validity ( or not) of scientific evidence provided if any

You are right we are targeted by unscrupulous individuals. I just don't understand your project. If this is true, will Dr Bedlack confirm it?

Maybe I read wrong, but his software program is going to predict the success rate of treatment based on the design of the website that offers the treatment?

With all respect due, that's ridiculous. I've seen very poorly designed websites that are in fact completely legitimate (.edu sites, etc); and I've seen highly professional sites that are completely scams, along with everything in between. I would hazard an educated guess that the design quality of a website is in fact, completely unrelated to the quality of the treatment offered. It would be like judging a person's level of honesty based on the clothing they wear.