Diagnosis
10/2006
Country
UK
State
Gloucestershire
City
Gloucestershire
I have a brother-in-law who was diagnosed 2 years ago with MND. It is extremely distressing and the whole family are finding it hard to deal with. He is fully aware what is happening and is now showing signs of deterioting e.g. dribbling, slurred speech and muscle wastage. I was a nurse and had never met anyone with this disease, sometimes the motivation is not there for him to carry on so he gets extremely depressed and wants to end his life. He has a lot of support from his brothers and sisters but it is very hard to see him suffer in this way. We all thought the doctors must have made a mistake as only now symptoms have shown after 2 years.
He is not on any medication but has a heathy diet with suppliments. This we got advice from a doctor who treated eric's book(Eric is winning).
I do feel all the advice has given false hopes, hundreds of dollars have been spent on advice and suppliments sold. This has made me feel all of it was a money making exercise.
I dont know what other peoples opinion is of this.
We are all either he will get better or have a peaceful and painless end to this terrible disease.

Very sorry about your BIL. If you use the search above you will see other peoples experiences and or opinions about "Eric."

Personally I think it is a crime to profit off of other people's pain. This disease is so insidious that you would think anyone suffering from it would offer for free anything that may be thought to work to slow it down.

Glad your BIL has supportive family.