A Story about Twitching, Anxiety, and ALS Fears — Please Read

Status
Not open for further replies.

Miller.brandon5

Reason
Learn about ALS
I’ve been poking around this board for a couple months, and I wanted to tell my story in hopes that it may help others. Before I get there, I do want to say that the thoughtful responses of people on this board suffering from a horrible illness are truly incredible. You people are the personification of kindness and grace.

Now to my story, I’ll try not to be too long-winded, but here we go. In November of last year, I noticed that my right foot was twitching nearly constantly. It was almost like a pulling sensation in the arch of my foot that was so powerful that it made my toe move. It was annoying, but I stayed off the internet and tried to put it out of my mind. My wife was pregnant with our second child, and I was going through some changes at work, so I chalked it up to stress. The twitching continued nearly constantly for 3-4 months and then suddenly stopped, and I put it all out of my mind.

A few weeks later, my quad muscle on the inside of my right knee started to twitch aggressively and constantly. The twitches were visible to the human eye and extremely bothersome. At this point I remembered the issues I had with my foot. I should note at this point that anxiety runs in my family, but I always thought myself to not be affected by it. I’ve had medical tests in the past for minor issues, but I never considered myself to have health anxiety. The knee twitching kept going, so I started to look online for causes of twitches like I was experiencing, and I’m sure you all know what I found. ALS may cause twitches that are typically focuses in one area of the body. They can start in a foot or hand and then progress up the limb. This sounded so familiar! I sent a note to my primary care physician who said it wouldn’t hurt for me to see a neurologist.