00/0000
Country
IT
State
IT
City
Milan
Hi all,

Thank you for taking the time to read my post, I hope this is the right section for it.

Please excuse my naïveté and sorry if I sound alarmed, I know I speak from a place of fear and I’m still learning about all this.

My question is should I be testing? My dad was diagnosed (spinal ALS) in 2017 at 59.
His symptoms were fairly atypical, it took them 2 years to diagnose correctly; he passed in 2019.

Before a trial he got into (2018) he got genetic testing, and this is the panel of genes they studied:

(
E4D5894A-C7C0-49D6-A0ED-66DA5A69E2F2.jpeg

As you can see, he was not tested for the C9 mutation! I understand they run a standard panel on him, but c9orf72 is the most frequent mutation in ALS, so why not test that too?

The results were “no genetic relevance was found”. After that there’s a note in the report saying the L1CAM gene was found, classified as VUS (variant of uncertain significance), not being known his relevance for ALS.

A kind person I spoke to on a als Reddit suggested that they probably run the c9 test before the standard panel (because that’s the usual protocol) and didn’t give us the papers because it turned out to be not relevant/we didn’t ask for the papers/they got lost.

I reached out twice to the clinic but they have no record of that. They also told me the SOD gene test was necessary for trial.

I assume there’s a different protocol here. (I’m in Milan, Italy if that helps).

I have been scared about ALS myself for a while now. I know genetic testing speaks to lifetime risk and it’s not a diagnosis of a current situation. But again I think I want to know but I’m not sure.