Diagnosis
10/2020
Country
US
State
OH
City
Cleveland
How can I gain weight when I can't eat sugar, dairy, or too much starch as it causes increase in inflammation in the brain and nerve damage.

Hello- welcome to the forum. I've moved your post to the "Could This Be?" subforum, as it's not clear if you are looking for information about diet and risk for ALS or if you have been diagnosed. Please feel free to add some further details such as your current diagnostic status to your post so we can make sure to provide you the best information based on your specific situation.

-When I was first diagnosed the neuro at major ALS center said there's nothing I could eat that could help or hurt. The dietitian I see at clinic said to eat everything and anything - just so I kept weight on. That's what I've been doing since diagnosis in 2011. For the first 7 years, the folks at work didn't know I had a problem - I did have a desk job. Today after 10 years, I use a power wheelchair & have very weak shoulders, arms and hands. I need help showering & dressing but still manage transfers. Breathing, speaking and swallowing are still good.

So, while eating everything and anything, I have slow progression. I think the idea that the foods you mention have any affect on ALS progression is incorrect.

My husband also has slow progression and has to eat about 4500 calories to maintain weight. I asked his neurologist about food and inflammation and she said (if I understood correctly) the inflammation they talk about in ALS is not the same inflammation you get from eating unhealthy foods.