Diagnosis
06/2017
Country
CA
State
Ontario
City
Oakville
I'm still not sure if I want to be a member of this club...I've been hanging around this site reading the threads and trying to find a reason I shouldn't be here. I'm for sure in denial but I may need advice, friendship so ... just in case I wake up from denial, I thought I'd join. :shock:

I am 51 years old I have one son and a 10 year old cat. I was a Chemical Laboratory Technician for 20 years and I was diagnosed with a MND February 2017.

My neurologist is calling it lower motor neuron variant ALS. My last day at work was this past July 2017. It was recommended to leave work to reduce stress and help slow down the progression.

I was very active and healthy until about Jan 2014. I walked an hour a day 6 km everyday. I did 20 min weight workouts 4 times a week, I ate healthy and tried to maintain a positive outlook on life even though I did have some extreme emotional stresses due to family issues.

My first symptom 3 years ago was hand/grip weakness in my right hand and a loss of my manual dexterity buttons, shoe laces, nail cutters, handling beakers and bottles at work and cups at home. After a few physiotherapy sessions my therapist noticed the atrophy in the palm of my right hand below my thumb and index finger. I ignored her advice to have that checked out for about a year until the weakness was progressing up my arm and then to my left arm/hand with muscle twitching and cramping. I went to see my family doctor...I was then sent to see a Physiatrist.

After his EMG/Nerve conduction tests I was referred to a Neurologist at an ALS clinic. I had, I think it was 15 vials of blood taken to rule out mimics. After the blood tests, MRI, EMG/Nerve conduction tests and a round of IVIG to rule out MMN ( I had no response to the IVIG)...it turns out I am very healthy except I have a MND. They tell me at the ALS clinic that I am progressing very slowly and that's a good thing.

Last edited by a moderator: