Diagnosis
01/2011
Country
CA
State
British Columbia
City
Vancouver
So I'm currently diagnosed as 'probable ALS' and in the last few months I've noticed my left hand getting weaker, as well as some issues with my right leg. It has made my job significantly more difficult (I'm a mechanic) and I think it's time I started getting ready to 'retire'. I've got an appointment with my neuro on the 24th and I'm fairly sure I'll be getting the official diagnosis. Sooooo.....just looking for some tips on disability insurance. I've got short term and long term through Great West Life, anybody know any good sites, things to do or not to do, etc.... I'm very suspicious of insurance companies

Sorry that you're having to be here.

I had GWL - you can view your account on line and determine illegibility and payment amounts. I would suggest you speak to your HR person as well as your financial planner before committing to your application. Typically LTD plans kick in, after EI benefits are exhausted. Some plans and/or employers top up, but most don't. Your financial planner can keep you apprised of tax sheltering as there may be onerous tax issues to consider. As soon as you get an official diagnosis, you should immediately apply for long term disability pension via CPP. It takes about six months to process, but is retroactive to date of application. ( I had mistakenly :confused: believed it was retroactive to diagnosis date which mistake cost me five months of benefits). The next item to apply for is the disability tax credit. It's worth 10k yearly and transferable between spouses. There are many expenses which can be deducted. You will also have the option of extending your GWL health benefits but you'll have to pay it yourself. Again, some employers do cover those, but most do not.