Reason
Lost a loved one
Country
US
State
WI
City
Beaver Dam
Was curious if anyone has some pointers on a bed. Here is our situation....

PALS currently uses a hospital bed. But he'd like to get a bed for the both of us to sleep in while Im there. I know they make adjustable beds, but do these beds also raise and lower the way a hospital bed does? And also, can I get his lift under the bed, or are the bases of adjustable beds all the way to the floor? Appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.

Liz, I sent you a reply to your message. Quick answer, for others here who read this and are looking for the same, is that no, my queen sized tempurpedic adjusts head and foot, but does not raise up and down like you describe. Search for adjustable beds for bariatric use. In my message to you I sent a link to A m a zon featuring the Tranquility Bariatric Adjustable Bed with Memory Foam Mattress by Shuteye Beds

I have no personal knowledge of the bed, as far as how comfortable, or how well it would hold up, but do know it elevates like you need for you and Ray.

thanks Diane. ive looked at a few now.
just wanted to bump this. do any of you know about mattresses? can any mattress be used with an adjustable bed? if so, what mattress would you reccomend?

For comfort and less stress on bony prominences of his body, you're probably going to want to go with a tempur-pedic type of mattress. You might also consider putting to hospital beds together (twin size) and getting a king mattress--that would allow you to use the bed you have and keep the ability to adjust the height of the bed.

I've found hospital beds to be notoriously uncomfortable. I added a 4 inch pad to my hospital bed to make it comfortable enough to sleep on.

You can find used electric hospital beds pretty inexpensively, too--around $200 bucks or so around here.

Thanks much, Patty. Glad to see you back.