Diagnosis
04/2008
Country
US
State
New Mexico
City
Albuquerque
My speech has gotten bad in the past few months. I'm now looking to get an AAC. I have heard and read good things about Proloquo2Go. I read that the version for iPad is enchanced. I have an iPad which my husband and I use often when we don't feel like getting out a laptop or going to our desktop. But the iPad is a bit heavy and I'm think of getting an iPod Touch. I'm thinking about downloading the app for both devices. Please anyone share your experiences with Proloquo2Go.

Sarah, sorry about your speech. I sure know what that is about! I have been using Proloquo2Go on my IPod touch for about 8 months now and it is great. The only problem is that the sound is not very good from the built in speaker on my 3G model, maybe the 4th generation is better? I purchased a small flat speaker and velcroed it to the back of the Ipod and it has lots of volume.

One small problem I noticed on my 8gb IPod is that I would type something in and press speak and instead of speaking the program would crash and close. I talked to the Proloquo2Go people and they told me to clear the recent text from the program memory and do a shutdown and restart of the IPod. If I do do this then it is ok for a day or so. It might be a problem only with the 8gb model I don't know but if I was going to get another I would get the 32 or 64 gb model.

The only other issue is the small keyboard which can be problem for failing fingers but the new OS coming soon will allow a Bluetooth connection to a keyboard so that may be an option but it kind of takes away from the portability of the device.

I am sure you won't be disappointed with the program or the IPod. It is my away from home voice it sure works a lot better than my $5000 DynaVox Palmtop3.

I have the IPOD TOUCH 64G with that software. I never had any errors, as the 32 & 64G models have the newer chipset.