Diagnosis
09/2010
Country
US
State
ME
City
central
This is a story of hope. The last two months have been tough, but I have huge family support. I offered to host Thanksgiving for us, my sister's family, and our new neighbors since we love to trade holidays and this one I felt I could manage more than Christmas. (My sister, who is also my neighbor, would have been fine with hosting both- this was my choice.) So, we had twelve in our little farmhouse. Now, you all don't know me, but I am the boss of my kitchen and have no idea how to delegate. And I am just learning the wonderful lesson of asking for help. Wednesday, my sister grocery shopped for me, and my neighbor came over with her two toddlers to help clean the house and prep vegetables. Thursday morning I woke so excited at 5:30 and got the blueberry pie (my daughter's request) in the oven right off. I had to breathe deeply and try to not get frustrated with rolling out the crust with my spazzy arms and hands, but I got it. Meanwhile my husband vacuumed and my neighbor came over again to help me get the bird stuffed and in the oven, and help with the appetizers. My daughter got home from her night shift at 10 a.m. and pitched in making her favorite appetizers, and my niece came over to see what she could help with, and got to fetch the special T-day plates from the attic, wash them, find the table linens, and drag in and set the big table. I almost fell over when I heard that my husband was ironing the napkins! With occasional rest breaks and some real progress in my delegating skills, we had the appetizer table loaded and were watching the Patriots play football by 12:30 with everyone arrived. The love and laughter were simply wonderful. I directed the turkey basting (since I can't pull that much out of the oven) and everyone else bustled around finishing their side dishes. My sister and I are the gravy queens, and we made up a ton (don't want to run out of gravy, and how great for my calorie intake!). By 3:00