Diagnosis
06/2014
Country
US
State
Fl
City
Sarrasota
I have bulbar onset ALS and my swallowing ability is nearly gone. I have been using a button peg tube for several months. Now I have begun taking medicine thru the tube. Although I crush the pill and mix it with warm water, then flush water down the tube before and after the medicine, it still clogs up. Now that I will have to take all my pills thru the tube, I am very concerned about it completely clogging. Any advice?

We crush the pill and then add it to a full flush of water ... haven't had a clog issue yet.

There is a subforum for tubes, did you search there? Scroll down, it's beneath these general forums.

Use a mortar and pestle to make it very fine

Also talk to your doctor about your medication needs and see if your meds can be supplied in liquid form.

You do need to use a mortar and pestle and must grind the medications to powder, then completely dissolve in water before putting thru your tube.

If you have trouble finding a mortar and pestle, try a kitchen shop, rather than a pharmacy or medical supply store.

Mortar and pestles are also easy to buy here in health food stores or Asian grocery stores. I would imagine it's the same over there.

My PALS has been taking all his meds through his feeding tube for about two years now. We haven't had any major clogging issues.
I bought a pill crusher + cutter gadget for about $5 at a drug store. I prefer that to a mortar + pestle because the pill/s won't slip and fly off. Basically it is like a container with a screw on top. The top and bottom parts have rough surfaces and when you screw the top on tight, the two surfaces will meet. Basically, you put 1 - 3 tablets in the bottom cup and the as you screw on the top, it grinds and pulverizes the tablets between the two surfaces. Takes me less than a minute to crush the meds. It also has a handy pill splitter with a hinged lid.

How long have you had your tube? It should be changed every six months.