Diagnosis
05/2014
Country
US
State
Michigan
City
Lansing
Hi! I am new to the forum. I am 76 rears old and am very thankful I,m not 46. I was diagnosed with ALS May 14 2014. I am a veteran and just found out that the VA considers ALS as 100% service related. I need information on how to go about applying for benefits. Any help will be much appreciated. I have seen the document "For Veterans with ALS" Should I contact the PAV before contacting the VA. When should I contact the County VA office. None of these places is local. Will I need to go To a VA medical center for treatment and evaluation, or can I still go to my ALS clinic?

Take your DD214 ( discharge form ) and your paperwork from the doctor showing your diagnosis to your pva rep. Mine handle everything from there. They filled out all the forms needed including a power of attorney to handle things. With in two weeks I received notice from the va that I had been approved. First check came at the end of the month it started in.
You can continue seeing your local clinic if you desire but that will be on your insurance. They will also schedule you to be seen by the different doctors at the va. I think there are some cases where they will approve for you to be seen by the regular public health folks like your clinic but think you have to show that the distance to va hospital is over a certain distance from home.
The va will provide everything you need, meds, equipment, med supplies such as wound pads, over the counter meds. Also will help you get a wheelchair van when you need one, and provide funding to make your home accessible

dalvin Thank you for your reply. I have no local PAV. Can this be done via mail?