08/2013
Country
US
State
Texas
City
Pinehurst
VA Wheelchair & Van benefits question

First of all if this is in the wrong section, Moderator please move it and let me know.

I am a US Veteran, 100% disabled since the ALS diagnosis last year. I am (all too quickly) getting to where I need the PWC. Of course, that means a van, too.

I understand the VA offers $ benefits to help with the costs of these specific items. eBenefits.va.gov is, IMNSHM, not very useful.

Do any of you have experience in this regard? How much $'s if any? How much time? Do they hhave loaner PWCs if I can solve the van problem? Any & everthing else that might help?

I had an appointment last week and they say the KT will call (In'Shallah!) and that my loss of extremity has been signed off by their neuros.

Any guidance much appreciated!

Max

get info from local va service office....pm a helpful vet....their are some who resent vets help...

You need to contact The Paralyzed Veterans of America local office at the Houston VA, and they will advocate for you and let you know what you qualify for. But quickly I can tell you that the VA will supply you with a PWC, and your choice of one. Tim's got an amazing chair with an outdoor package, as we live in the mountains, love to do trails, and have tons of hills to do. The VA gives you $18,000 for the chassis and pay for all the costs of the modifications. We purchased a Toyota Sienna Extra Tall, and we traded in his Tundra to defray costs. In the end we have a van with every option available, and only had to pay $15,000. They will do the same mobility van thing every 2 years.
Paulette