Diagnosis
12/2013
Country
US
State
AZ
City
Tucson
I am a retired teacher in the state of Arizona where we are also paid into and are eligible for social security. Since retiring four years ago (I am 56 years old) I have been teaching online classes through a community college. I have read other places on this forum that I need to be out of work for 6 months before the social security disability can be approved.

I signed a contract to teach one class this semester prior to receiving this horrible diagnosis. Do I need to resign this position right now so that the 6 month waiting period will begin?

Any advice on this matter will be appreciated...there is so much new information to process.

I'd call the social security administration.

Definitely call them. Tell them it is a TERI qualifying illness ( they should know this but it does not hurt to reinforce it). I THOUGHT you could apply immediately and benefits started 5 months after official diagnosis but do not know for sure my sister was stay at home mom and her work credits were not current. Let us know what they say!

The National ALS association has 6 small booklets that are free to all that are living with ALS. I would suggest that you get them there a lots of information in there that will very likely answer all your questions and provide much more information about this nasty disease.

My husband quit work April 1 2012, applied for SSDI the same week. He had to be not working for 6 months. They counted from the first of the following month. His first check came November. There was no problem being labeled TERI, but he did have to prove that he stopped working.

If you have a diagnosis of ALS. You are not required to wait 6 months. You can file immediately with a TERI case. Your application will be fast tracked because of diagnosis. I would apply over phone or in person. TERI cases get lost when done online.

Yes,
ALS is an automatic approval.