Diagnosis
12/2012
Country
US
State
MI
City
Lansing
Greetings, PALS. I'm new at this ALS stuff, and I feel like I'm reinventing the wheel. Herewith some of my (dumb?) questions:

What are the most comfortable kinds of clothes to wear while sitting in a wheelchair most of the day? Not the jeans I used to live in, I know. And my shirts and sweaters are too long and bunch up around my middle while I sit.

I just acquired a Hoyer lift. I can't abide the sling's straps on my bare skin. So, what to wear when being transferred to toilet or to shower chair?

The wooden ramp from my front porch to the driveway is my way out of the house (and back in). Now it's winter, and I've been warned away from the ramp because it's treacherously slick now. What can be done to modify the ramp surface?

That's all for now, folks!

Hi there...maybe covering the ramp with chicken wire, stapled down everywhere..or emery cloth?(bit like sandpaper but fabric backed)
Take care
Pete

for the ramp, i bought a gallon of non-slip paint at home depot, cost $30. it has grit in it so its not slick when wet. also bought a bag of de-icing salt to sprinkle on it if ice forms. use a coffe can to apply so i'm not wrestling with the whole bag.

Marilyn

There are no dumb questions!

I was wearing long dresses ( over the head types) in the warmer temperatures - easy to manage. I have acquired several colours of the "perfect pant" from LL Bean. These are pull ups and actually are quite comfy. Wash & wear. Initially I bought them a size larger for easier on/off - but I've reverted back to my size and finding they're OK. I also bought longish tunic tops to match and quite like them. I wear silky smooth camisoles instead of bras. ( too much info?) so my outer tops don't bunch up at all. You can google adaptive clothing sites for more ideas as well as searching on this site- i recall a few threads on this very subject.