Diagnosis
04/2012
Country
US
State
Ma
City
Lynn
I just want to say hi and send my best to everyone. I'm new to this so I'm still trying to figure it out.

Welcome to the forums! Hope you'll find some answers here along with caring and concern from new friends.

welcome! you've found a good place. lots of knowledge and sharing here.

Hello and welcome. I joined just last week and am finding answers to some of my questions, and getting answers to questions I had never thought about. I was also diagnosed in April. Still hunting and pecking my way around this great site too.

Just remember that each case is different so don't scare yourself. I have had ALS for 3 years and am throwing out the first pitch at a pro baseball game tonight. Hope you are working with that amazing group at MGH! I have met Dr. Barry and was very impressed. You can ask us anything! No,really anything! We are all in this together and sometimes we take what we learn from each other here to our ALS clinics. For instance, I learned on the forum that Mestinon (a drug for Myesthenia Gravis) can help fight the fatigue of MND. Works great for me at .5 tabs 3 times daily. My neuro said it was cheap with a low side effect profile so we tried it. All because some one shared their story. We are here for you.

Welcome! The members on the forum are wonderful and so helpful. Take care. Yasmin.

Hi golf4kev, welcome to another Mass person here (I was gonna say "mass hole", but some people don't take that right!) :)

Have you started in a clinic yet? There are a few to choose from around the Boston area so you're lucky in that respect. I used to go to Beth Israel, switch to UMass Memorial's ALS clinic in Worcester as its closer and easier to get to... And we have the renown Dr. Robert Brown heading up the research there. Also Mass General... lots to pick from!

Let us know if you have any questions...

Helen

Welcome, you came to the right place! Sorry it has to be this way. God bless!