09/2011
Country
US
State
Texas
City
Podunk
So, I guess I should refresh your memory of my current situation:

I'm a music teacher at a primary school and have been pushing to make it through to the end of the year. Unfortunately, progression has just been so much faster than I (or anyone) had really expected. Things really came to a head when I spent four days really sick from trying to get on Nuedexta. I had heard when you take a hit from getting sick with anything, you just don't really bounce back well. No kidding.

So Wednesday, I met with my school administrators, and they so graciously set me up to eligible for the sick pool so that I could finish this week and officially retire. The sick pool coverage allows them to solicit donations of sick days to cover the last 5 weeks of the year so that I can remain on payroll and they can pay out the rest of my contract. I was floored... what an amazing gift!

This morning, a friend of mine decided to pass on this little news nugget to our local tv station. So the news crew surprised me at work with an interview! They even interviewed my mom, my principal, and filmed me teaching some of my lil darlins! Wow!

So while it's been a bit of a sad week, seeing my career as a music educator end, I now also see my new career as an ALS educator and advocate beginning. While I did talk a lot about awareness and research and finding a cure for ALS, all that stuff ended up on the cutting room floor. I started to get a bit upset, but then I stopped and told myself, "No. That's great. Because now I can hit them up for another interview and really start spreading the word!"

So here's a link to my first interview as a PALS... the first of many and the start of something new and wonderful!
http://www.ktre.com/story/17589061/lufkin-teachers-disease-has-her-leaving-a-void-in-the-classroom

~ Sarah

Wow! What a wonderful piece on a wonderful lady! You did very well too. I'm proud of you Sarah! :)