12/2010
Country
US
State
Alabama
City
Pell City
Hello everyone.

Newbie here. Dx' with ALS in Dec 2010, second opinion Jan 2011. So far I can't talk,walk, stand alone, drool like crazy and have swallowing problems. I have PEG tube but still eat solid foods.

I wake up often during the night with pain in the outer edge of my heels. A sting or burning feeling. The only way I get ride of it is to take all the weight off the foot and heel. Let my foot hang off the edge of bed so nothing touches the foot. Anyone with these symptom?

I am a 21 year USAF Veteran and getting a lot of help from V A. At present my wife is my Care Giver.

Thanks,
Mayo

for burning itchy feet use cold Aloe Vera Gel. Should find it soothing. I have same problem but on left arm and fingers. Good luck, it works fpr me.

My guess would be that you are experiencing the start of what can become pressure sores. Do you sleep with anything on your feet, ie braces? Try putting a piece of memory foam under your heels. Sometimes sheepskin (or imitation) can help too. Have your wife lotion your heels every day. Really its good to have all pressure points lotioned. We lotion my PALS elbows, feet, back, and buttocks 2x a day.
Having your feet hang over the end of the bed isnt a good idea for the long run, especially if you cannot really move your legs and feet much. Blood will pool in your feet and cause swelling and pain. With less mobility, usually circulation of extremeties gets bad as well.
Hope this helps some.

Are you diabetic? I'm type2 and get that burning. It's a neuropathy. Fleece boots help. I'm told there are meds for it if pain is severe.

AL.