09/2011
Country
US
State
Texas
City
Podunk
Dear ALS Elders (so named by me as I am still a newbie to our common malady),

I searched the old threads about this, but didn't really find the answer, and I'm desperate enough for an answer to pose this question (especially since there is not a doctor to be found in an office until next Tuesday! Haven't these people ever heard of having someone on-call?).

I've been on Rilutek 33 days now. The last 5 days I have been incessantly nauseated. It does not let up for anything. I can eat through it (sort-of), and no problems with upchucking or the Hershey squirts, so I really don't think it's a stomach virus.

So can Rilutek cause this after taking it for a month? Or am I barking up the wrong tree?

And if you have ever anything experienced this, did you find a method of treating it that actually worked? I've got some anti-nausea chewables that aren't doing a darn thing, some Sprite, Gatorade, and Saltines, and running out of ideas fast.

Thanks and Happy Hanukkah!

~ Sarah

Sarah,
SIDE EFFECTS:
Dizziness, lightheadedness, drowsiness, tiredness, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, loss of appetite, stomach pain, or numbness/tingling around the mouth may occur. Any sign of jaundice...stop immediately and go to your Doc.
If this continues I'd suggest stopping the med temporarily until you can reach your physician. I was only on it for 7 weeks when my liver enzymes became elevated and had to stop it. They've since returned to WNL.

Thanks, Deb. I did read all that stuff before. But it's not specific if these side effects should happen immediately or can start later... that's really my question. And as for stopping it... no way, not just for nausea. I cling to that little pill like a lifeline 'cause that's all we get. If that's what's causing this, so be it, I can deal with it if I have to... just trying to figure out if it's really the problem or more likely something else that I should be taking care of.