Diagnosis
10/2011
Country
US
State
NC
City
Raleigh
Okay, dumb question #483... recent diagnosis has me in scramble mode to do all I can to "get affairs in order" for my family before I am unable. Red tape and fill-out-this-form Hell aside, all is going pretty well. God bless the VA rep who is assisting us, too!
At a local ALS support group meeting my bride was told that I should NOT try to lose weight ahead of what's coming. A few decades ago she married an agile 170-pound Marine made of twisted steel and sex appeal but, alas, he's been replaced by a 240-pound PALS who is made of rusted steel and corn meal! She and my daughters couldn't lift or move me with a written plan and a 10-man working party!
Didn't get a firm answer either way from the neuro, but will certainly ask at the ALS clinic when I go in mid-December.

Any advice or experience would be appreciated. Until then, I'll cut the Krispy Kreme consumption a little!

I am no doctor so please dont take my word for it ask someone who knows more than me, but in the meantime this is my understanding if you short yourself calories now your body will break down muscle accelerating the disease. I have had ciecumstances that I did not eat right or enough and I was considerably weaker. People who are somewhat......rustier steel, fair the disease better. If your too overweight all the health risks that were there before your ALS diagnosis are still there so it is a two way street.

Ps there are no dumb questions, you can get answers to most using the serch tool

Not a dumb question at all. It does seem a little strange, but the advice you were given in support group is spot on!

Unless a PALS is morbidly obese, he should try to maintain his weight. Often in later stages of the disease this becomes difficult to do, especially when the swallowing muscles become affected. Many PALS at this stage end up losing too much weight and the body becomes starved for nutrition as it feeds on itself.