Diagnosis
07/2011
Country
Uni
State
AZ
City
Show Low
Hi Everyone ! My name is Laura and I have been lurking here off and on since January. I was diagnosed with ALS yesterday at the Mayo Clinic in Arizona. I didn't want to post until I had a diagnosis and I was trying not to panic. I am also a licensed practical nurse.

Last summer I started having weakness and loss of fine motor skills in my right hand. At first I thought that I just crocheted too much or somehow injured it. I could still work so I didn't really worry about*it. Then since December it has gotten much worse. I have lost movement and a couple of my fingers are starting to curl. I also started getting twitching and my whole arm is weak. I broke my ankle at the beginning of January and was seeing an orthopedist. I showed him my hand and he ordered an Emg. I didn't realize it until he pointed out that I also had atrophy. I made the mistake of researching emg online and came up with ALS. However, I thought that if I had ALS they would look at the emg and diagnose me (yes I was naive). That didn't happen. My emg was abnormal but they didn't say ALS so I thought I was off the hook. I quit worrying about it and kept trying to figure out what was going on. I ended up having an MRI of my cervical neck and my brain. I also saw a neurosurgeon and a neurologist, both who said there was nothing that could be done but they didn't know what the problem was.