Diagnosis
10/2008
Country
US
State
Florida
City
Jacksonville
Hi. I am new to the forum and this is my first post. I was diagnosed with ALS 10/31/08. I have a fairly slow progression, thank God, because I am single and live alone, but I don't have many people to talk with about ALS. I certainly don't know anyone personally who has or had ALS, so I'm just hanging out there on my own little deserted island wondering what, if anything, I should be doing, feeling .... I hope this forum will be helpful to me and that I can be helpful to others as well.

My symptoms are with my right leg, right hand and balance. Literally, one could knock me over with a feather. I am still walking, but not well. I use a cane occasionally, but I'm not very good with it either. I can still write, but not well, and I have trouble holding a pen, a fork and exerting any pressure between my thumb and forefinger. I know I am in much better shape than many whose posts I have read here, so Ihope you all don't think I am a weany for asking this question.

Here is my question. I occasionally experience "numbness" and coldness in my right hand and right foot. It is a strange feeling, similar to the feeling when a body part is "asleep" right before it starts to tingle and come out of it. I have googled these symptoms and found that they are not common in ALS.

Has anyone else experienced this?

Pam :?:

Hi Pam,
Welcome to PLM, everyone here is very helpful you will find the answers to your questions.

I have numbness and feeling cold as well, I do not know how much of it is als or just the cold weather and poor circulation.I use hot showers and baths and massage my feet and hands 2x a day and do range of motion exercise. I would suggest that you get a walker since you live alone, I have the kind with a seat but have not had to use it yet. Take care
Judy

Hi, Pam! Welcome to the forum!