Diagnosis
02/2018
Country
US
State
Tennessee
City
Baileyton
My mom was diagnosed with advanced ALS this past Saturday in Tennessee. I drove up from Alabama. My dad drove down from Michigan. By the time I was able to get here they had already sent her home. I knew her husband is an alcoholic but not to the point he can't care for her. My mom isn't disagreeing that it'd be good to have hospice give a hand but her husband doesn't want anything to do with it. He didn't even pick up her prescriptions. My dad and I had to. And her husband is getting mad (after drinking) that we're running around doing all this and not spending time with her. I don't know what to do. She has no wheel chair, no feeding tube, I doubt he'll make a follow up appointment let alone take her to it. She's on a bed with no sheets and cigarette stains. I can't even breath in there it's so heavy with the smell of smoke. Please if anyone can respond to this... I'm in my second year of veterinary school and was going to try and get back to classes Monday but the thought of leaving her with essentially no one to take care of her is making me sick to my stomach.

The other thing is that my fiancé and I were going to get married this summer and his mom has things lined up so that if we wanted to do it here this Saturday we could. I asked my mom if she'd be up to it and she said she didn't know. I think she's not sure about getting from point A to point B. I don't even know if her husband would cooperate.

So sorry to hear about your horrible situation. I suggest you contact the social worker for her ALS clinic. You may need to go through the nurse at the office where she was diagnosed to get contact information. If you feel your mom is in danger of abuse (or neglect) from her husband, you might also need to contact Adult Protective Services. Hopefully others on this forum will chime in with their comments. My heart goes out to you and your mom.